Matamata Towncentre

Matamata Piako District Council

Matamata-Piako District Council is made of three main town centres including Matamata, Morrinsville and Te Aroha.

The Future Proof project focuses on Morrinsville within this district.

Morrinsville is situated around 33km east of Hamilton. It has a population of around 6600, including the rural population which is a huge contributor to the local economy. Morrinsville and the surrounding area is one of the most prosperous dairy farming areas in New Zealand, and is known as the 'cream of the country'.

Despite the traditional rural nature of the town, Morrinsville has been experiencing strong growth over the past ten years. Its close proximity to Hamilton makes it a popular choice for those who want to enjoy the rural lifestyle while working in the city.